Coventry Public Library

Educate, Entertain, Enrich

Greene Book Recommendations

May, 2016

By: Helen Simonson
Young Beatrice Nash arrives in Rye, East Sussex in the summer of 1914 to take over as the Latin teacher of the local grammar school. Although mourning the death of her father the year before, Beatrice gradually adjusts to her new surroundings and embraces her independence. The local gentry, however, don't know what to make of an attractive young "spinster" with a passion for Latin. This novel is an excellent choice for readers who enjoy the subtle sarcasm in novels by Jane Austen and those who are fans of Downton Abbey. The audio version of this book is delightful.

April, 2016

By: Fiona Barton
At nineteen, Jean marries the man of her dreams, Glenn Taylor. With an older and more sophisticated man, Jean allows herself to sit back and transforms into the compliant, obedient wife. Even when Glenn is accused of a horrendous crime, Jean stands by her man. When he dies in a freak "accident," Jean finds her voice. This book will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. The audio version of The Widow is spellbinding.