Coventry Public Library

Educate, Entertain, Enrich

Greene Book Recommendations

February, 2016

By: kc dyer
This lighthearted, romantic novel is a good choice for fans of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander Series. At 29, Emma Sheridan, stuck in a dead end job in Chicago, decides to make a drastic change in her life. She quits her job and sells her belongings to set out on a trip to Scotland with the sole purpose of finding her own Jamie Fraser, the hero of Gabaldon's novels. She starts a blog to recount her many misadventures while on her quest. Emma falls in love with the Highlands and its quirky locals. Will she find her Fraser? Read this book and find out.

January, 2016

By: B. A. Shapiro
Alizée Benoit is a young Jewish artist of French descent living in New York during the years leading up to World War II. Fortunate enough to be employed by the WPA, she works as a muralist but is a champion of abstract expressionism. Her frustrated efforts to obtain visas for her extended family in Europe lead her to join a group of radicals intent on ousting Breckinridge Long, FDR's anti-Semitic State Department appointee. Shapiro takes us back and forth from the present day to the World War II era, as Alizee's niece, Danielle, tries to solve the mystery of her aunt's disappearance in 1940.