Coventry Public Library

Educate, Entertain, Enrich
The Library will be closed on Monday, July 4th in observation of Independence Day.

Book Recommendations

June, 2016

By: Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
The four Plumb siblings have long anticipated receiving their portions of a trust fund which they have nicknamed The Nest. Unfortunately, their mother has used most of it to pay off a lawsuit brought against the eldest child, Leo. Debut author Sweeney introduces an intriguing cast of characters whose ambitions and dreams have changed over the years. She explores the power of friendship and family ties in this quirky novel.
By: Kemper Donovan
Richard Baumbach has moved to Los Angeles from the East Coast in the hopes of becoming a movie producer. At twenty-nine, though, he spends most of his time partying and maxing out his credit cards. Elizabeth Santiago is thirty-three and on track to becoming a partner in her law firm. These two strangers are chosen by a mysterious benefactor who has an interesting proposal: they will each earn half a million dollars if they agree to meet together for two hours each week for the period of one year. At first, Richard and Elizabeth feel totally mismatched. Over time, however, they begin to look forward to their weekly meetings. Debut author Kemper Donovan weaves a heartfelt story with this quirky cast of characters. Fans of The Husband's Secret and Big Little Lies will enjoy this book. The audio version is delightful.

May, 2016

By: Gillian Flynn
Libby Day was seven when her mother and two sisters were brutally murdered while she hid in a closet and then climbed out of a window. Libby testified in court that her brother was responsible for the murders, sending him to prison for life. Twenty-five years later, never-employed and friendless, Libby accepts an invitation by a local group of murder-investigation enthusiasts as a way to earn some money. After visiting her brother in prison for the first time, she begins to doubt his guilt and becomes driven to discover the truth. Fans of the blockbuster hit Gone Girl will definitely enjoy this earlier work by Gillian Flynn.
By: Ron Rash
Brother and sister Hank and Laurel Shelton are outcasts in their small Appalachian town. With a pronounced birth mark, Laurel is assumed by the locals to be a witch. When a mysterious, mute stranger comes to live with them, Laurel's world is gradually transformed. They fall in love and plan to run off together, but circumstances conspire against them. Set during the waning days of World War I, the author captures the superstitions of rural Appalachia. Fans of the Southern gothic genre will enjoy this well-written piece of historical fiction.